Ulti's Comic Reviews

Soul Field

November 6th, 2017, 2:46 pm
<< First < Previous
Next > Most Recent >>
From the Author
Ultizeta November 6th, 2017, 2:46 pm
Advertisement September 20th, 2018, 5:04 pm
Reader Comments
Leave a Comment
Slitherhen November 6th, 2017, 4:20 pm
Thank you so much for reviewing soul field!!! it's really great to hear from a perspective outside my own after having this comic for a long time it feels!

I guess for my explanation as to why the context for the world is so slim is because this is my first CYOA comic and was SUPER experimental, like I made on a whim. and yeah looking at my first few pages is cringe inducing cuz old art and it being nonsensical! I've neglected to change it cuz I find them really funny to me, but hearing that it can ruin its credibility is like OH SNAP GOTTA CHANGE IT BEFORE ANYONE ELSE READS IT. and that is what i'll do!! I will just have to find a way that isn't jarring. I mean look at that first page that is totally not welcoming lol. oh yeah and the thing about the chat lingo; it's like that because that's just how I talk but I've been wanting to stray away from that in recent pages and chalk it up to P.O.V, in which that's just how some of the characters think like. I could change that to be obvious when I go back and rework stuff.

in whats to come in the next update, spoilers maybe, but I had already planned for a character to elaborate on info of the world and why everyone here is so wacky. for a long time the lore for this universe (Mysticryptica it's called) was only found in another comic I used to have, but now soul field is the only thing to go off publicly and it is the most unhelpful thing LORE-WISE. also it's time for me to put a big stamp on NO MORE NEW CHARACTERS there's way to many that some, in recent pages, haven't existed in a while (well-keeper, swordlady, thehy fell off the face of the Freaking Planet and are immobile forever, dont worry dudes im bringn u back))

ANYWAY YEAH i'm definitely going to be changing things up in soul field over this month, I haven't updated in a long time (5 weeks?) cuz I've been busy with other art things, and kind of still am. Soon. oh also for the fact that the next update batch is frickn 80+ pages so far and most likely growing due to the new changes I want to make after reading this critique. thank you again for reviewing it, and for even reading it despite how extremely flawed parts of it can be omg, also sorry bout Big text im EAGER TO MAKE THIS THING BETTER
creca November 6th, 2017, 8:03 pm
imo the seemingly random world is what helps this comic, it allows far more interactivity and just complete madness to ensue

also HOLY BLACK DEPTHS 80 PAGES?!
Ultizeta November 6th, 2017, 11:19 pm
@creca: I'm not sure how providing more context and explanation for already-existing world elements in the comic would remove reader interactivity. As far as complete madness, well, that's part of the issue, as that severely hinders accessibility. A comic can still be entertainingly wacky while still having a basic and understandable structure to its world. Explaining stuff like "what is the importance of souls in this world" or the like wouldn't mean stuff like "the sun itself merges with an evil onion guy and a friendly pumpkin royal to make a nigh unkillable demigod" couldn't still happen in the world.
creca November 6th, 2017, 11:38 pm
@Ultizeta: eeh, good point, just my opinion on the matter
Slitherhen November 7th, 2017, 12:07 am
@creca @Ultizeta: *kicks down door into convo* its a true point!! I just need to find a way to present the world in a coherent way that manages to keep the same bizarre feeling. i never really got a chance to do that in the beginning of the comic because i myself hadnt gotten the feel of the universe. basically there was no rules at the start and it may have made whats cool about it today but it also made all the problems it has. and when i do fix it to have more explanations of the workings of the world, it could probably make for interesting possible commands that readers can make and understand whats going on. it may seem random looking at it as a whole but theres some logic to the universe i established in my personal writings that i had never taken a chance to get out, and by keeping it vague/mysterious is just making it confusing.
(ALSO YEAH, 80+ PAGES, a lot happens))
creca November 7th, 2017, 10:54 am
@Slitherhen: thank you for clearing that up for me, everything settles down to an unspecified order, much like the universe itself after the big bang